I completely forgot I had written this post back in October, when the news first broke about a remake.

But the deal is done.  CBS has greenlighted the Hawaii 5-0 remake.  It is supposed to be an updated version of the original Hawaii-based cop show.

Again, I don’t believe in remakes.  If it was done right the first time, why bother trying to make it better again…?  Truth is, I never watched the original.  But that might have something to do with the fact that it ran from 1968 to 1980, which means it ended 2 years before I was born.  And I was far too young to care to watch it in repeats.

But, as it goes, we could certainly use another cop show on the air.  Because who doesn’t love procedural shows…

ANYway.  CBS and I have been getting along quite well lately, so I suspect that when this new, updated version of Hawaii 5-0 hits pilot season, I will be watching.  After all, what good is a 3-episode rule if you don’t give the show a chance?  And who knows, maybe we’ll see it sooner than pilot season.

Can anyone say summer replacement show?

