WARNING: SPOILER ALERT!

I’m going to take a moment, before completely diving into the latest episode of Dollhouse to talk about how awesome Joss Whedon is.  And how much I love him.

It’s amazing to think of all the shows he’s done, and how brilliant they all have been.  But what’s more is that there are certain points where you can’t tell if he had the whole story planned out from the beginning, or if he is just flying by the seat of his pants.  And I think that’s what makes his work more brilliant.  The stories he’s written often have that feel – like he knew what was going to happen all along.

And with all that said, Dollhouse.

I pretty much think they are done with the one-off episodes.  You know, those episodes that have little or nothing to do with the overall story.  I actually like some of those one-off episodes.  They offer a nice break from the intense drama and constant edge-of-your-seatyness.

But last night’s episode, Getting Closer, was easily the most Joss-centric episode I’ve seen in awhile, in that it really felt like Joss had the entire story planned out from the pilot.  The natural progression of the plot just felt so right, and really made me feel like I want to see more.  And yes, I know FOX isn’t interested in keeping Dollhouse in the lineup, but what if another network picked it up?

ANYway.  Getting Closer.  Amazing.

Echo isn’t pleased about reuniting with Caroline, and it seemed as though no one else would be either.  Amy Acker reprised her role of Dr. Saunders and returned to the Dollhouse, both as Dr. Saunders AND as Boyd’s lover.  And Summer Glau came back as Bennett to help restore Caroline’s original personality wedge.

But, good lord, did things get crazy.

A few things to note, it was interesting to see the path that initially brought us to Epitaph One, the season one ender.

They are at war.  The House is in danger.  And Caroline is at the center of it.  The Rossum Corporation is going to collapse if they lose the war.

And it’s also great to see how much of the story can be told through flashbacks and memory scenes.

The big reveal of the episode was found at the end with a very detailed flashback scene from Caroline’s memory – Boyd is placed very high up within the Rossum Corporation.  Very high up, meaning, he is one of the partners.  Or perhaps a doll, with the partner’s personality imprinted.  As it was mentioned once earlier, the head of Rossum has an interest in keeping things mysterious, so it comes as no surprise that he would imprint himself into different bodies.  So, what does that mean for the ACTUAL head of Rossum?

I can’t stress enough how much this episode felt like Joss had really planned this all out before the show even started.  And that is a distinct possibility.  But with recent news that Dollhouse would not continue after the second season, I wouldn’t be surprised if there was supposed to be more to the story than we’re seeing.  But Joss did get the opportunity to wrap it up, whereas, in Firefly, there were so many untold stories just waiting to be seen.  Even after the movie.

And while we’re talking about Firefly, I simply do not like Summer Glau.  I understand that when Joss loves you in a role, he’ll put you in EVERYTHING he can.  And that’s an amazing loyalty.  But I just don’t like Summer Glau.  I didn’t like her as River, and I hated her on the Sarah Connor Chronicles.  And I think she tainted Dollhouse.  But Dollhouse seems to be a Whedonverse reunion zone.  Faith.  Wash.  Fred.  River.

But Joss has done such amazing story telling, I really can’t help but wonder where it is all supposed to go.  And I’m very much looking forward to Epitaph Two.  When it airs.

What do you think about the last few episodes of Dollhouse?

