It is a sad, sad day when I’d rather watch almost anything else other than How I Met Your Mother.  Considering at one time it was my all time favorite show ever.  And who could blame me for loving it so much?  The storylines were funny.  And who DOESN’T love Neil Patrick Harris?  I mean, come on.  He’s awesome.

I’m going to attribute my gradual moving away from the show to the multiple Britney Spears appearances.  I honestly think after those appearances that HIMYM really jumped the shark.  I haven’t laughed so hard I could cry in a really long time.  Not during the new episodes at least.  If I’m watching the dvds of the first and second seasons, there is no doubt I’ll be doubled over in  laughter.

But I’ve thought for awhile now that the show just isn’t as funny as it used to be.  I absolutely hated the idea of Barney and Robin together, and I was more than relieved when they finally ditched that relationship.

Now, I wonder if the writing just isn’t as good as it used to be or if maybe my tastes are just changing again.

With all that said, I’ve found a new favorite show.  I didn’t really click with The Big Bang Theory in the beginning.  I pretty much thought it wouldn’t last more than a season.  But much to my surprise, it is currently in its third season, and keeps getting funnier.

Shows that get silly songs stuck in my head because they are just so funny are something worth taking a second look at in my book.

Soft kitty, warm kitty, little ball of fur/ Happy kitty, sleepy kitty, purr purr purr.

Oh yes.  I want that as my ringtone.

But that’s besides the point.  The writing is spot on, although sometimes the stories are a little… well, dull.  There are some amazingly well-written lines and fantastic delivery by the characters.  Just as an example, in the most recent episode where Penny dislocated her shoulder, and Sheldon needed to be her knight in shining armor, the chemistry between Sheldon and Penny was nothing short of a laugh riot.  They are just so different, which makes them interesting to watch.  And also wonder what kinds of awkward situations you can throw them into.

I just don’t see that with HIMYM anymore.  They’ve all been in awkward situations and thrown into a pit of uncomfortableness over and over.  But it lacks punch for me right now.  I won’t stop watching the show like I did to boycott the Britney episodes.  And I will definitely be keeping my eyes open for that comeback episode that’s going to make me cry from laughing so hard.

So, Big Bang is my number one.  And HIMYM with take a backseat until they make their comeback, which I hope will be soon.  I really loved that show.

What do you think of the rise of Big Bang and the fall of HIMYM?  Do you see a trend with current shows that used to be good but aren’t anymore, or with shows that used to be uninteresting, and now blow you away?

