Ah, the age old question.  The one that has nothing to do with the chicken or the egg.  Or baskets, as a matter of fact.  But more than similar to the question “does life imitate art, or does art imitate life?”  Or maybe that’s not an age old question.  Maybe it’s just a theory that makes you go, hmm.

Either way, this is a fairly new phenomenon to me.  You see, very rarely in life do I find myself in a darkened cemetary at night fighting off vampires.  And I’m certainly not running a brothel disguised as a dollhouse.  And I’m not a neurotic doctor, or even one that is an overly-sensitive surgical junkie.  Oh no.  And I’m definitely not a tiny blonde teenage detective with a penchant for bad boys and lost causes.  Nope.

But apparently, TV from time to time just so happens to mimick peoples lives. 

Chriso had been saying this for years.  More specifically that someone MUST be following him with a pad of paper and pen and writing down absolutely EVERYTHING, because he’d see things that were just absurd that happened to HIM in a variety of episodes of The Simpsons.  No, he does not work for a nuclear power plant, and he doesn’t have an ancient boss with a love of money.  He’s talking about the more specific things, like the time he was in a Barbershop Quartet.  Not the B-Sharps, of course, but similar enough.  And just last week, Homer and Marge took in a holiday at a local hotel called Ocean-View. 

Ahem.  Cough, cough.  Seriously?

I thought it was funny that Chriso would think that the Simpsons writers are following him around, or at least have a spy in the house.  But Ocean-view?  That was uncanny.  So I no longer doubt him.  It’s actually really funny.  Chriso and I, when we first got to Virginia, lived out of a hotel.  The name of the hotel?  Ocean View.  And it was ON Oceanview, a part of Norfolk that was not on an ocean, but on the bay.

Strange, no?

And then there was that time on the Cleveland show where Cleveland picked up everything and was planning on moving to California, but stopped in Virginia for a day or two and decided that he would stay there forever…

Yup, that’s a little close to home.

But I will let him stick with his Simpsons theory, as nothing else really seems to be applying to MY life in particular.

Although, I must say that the upcoming episode of Glee is feeling awfully familiar.  In that, once upon a time, I had a crush on my music teacher.  And once upon a time, Don’t Stand So Close to Me was our song.  And once upon a time, I am engaged to be married 11 years later, to that very man.

Now doesn’t all that sound painfully familiar?  Um, a little.  Actually familiar enough that Chriso doesn’t want to watch the episode.  But he probably will, reluctantly.  And I won’t be surprised if he deletes it immediately from our DVR.  I’m not so sure about him, but I seem to be more comfortable with our story than he is.  But that’s okay. 

I’m more than looking forward to Glee’s take on Sting – because I LOVE Sting.  And seeing where the story actually will go, rather than sitting and speculating.  Because more often than not, the story goes in a COMPLETELY different direction than what I was thinking.

So, does TV imitate life, or is it life that imitates TV?  I will forever be maddened by this question, because it’s the type of question that simply has no answer.

I guess I’ll just have to watch more of the Simpsons to find out.  Hey, maybe Lisa becomes a blogger in the next episode.

What do you think about TV and life and who is the one being the copycat?

