ANNNNDDDD now I will be boycotting FOX.  Or not.  FOX has disappointed me before.  Especially when it comes to Joss Whedon.  He never seems to get the chance to take chances and really hit his stride with that network. 

But the news came down yesterday from the Powers That Be.  Not that anyone is or should be surprised by this news.  The writing on the wall has been there all along, and simply put (read: according the everyone else in the world BESIDES Whedon fans – or perhaps including some of them who have no faith in the networks, because, let’s be honest, they don’t want to give Joss the chance to shine – ) Dollhouse should never have gotten a second season.  Which I COMPLETELY disagree with.

I’ll be honest.  The number of episodes that really had me on the edge of my seat were few, but I’m Joss-loyal.  And I know the quality he can produce.  So I had all the faith in the world that Dollhouse would come out with guns ablazing.  I mean, look at Buffy’s first season.  Not a complete mess, but not at all among my favorites.  But it was the first season.  The place where kinks could be worked out and where characters get introduced and mistakes can be made.  But sadly, networks aren’t handing out as many chances as they used to when it comes to new shows.  If they are not producing ratings right off the bat, then there’s a good chance the show will be cancelled almost immediately. 

Look at Eastwick, who just went on the chopping block just the other day.

So, Dollhouse has been cancelled.

And Joss has been gracious about the death of this show.  Saying,

I don’t have a lot to say. I’m extremely proud of the people I’ve worked with: my star, my staff, my cast, my crew. I feel the show is getting better pretty much every week, and I think you’ll agree in the coming months. I’m grateful that we got to put it on, and then come back and put it on again.

I’m off to pursue internet ventures/binge drinking. Possibly that relaxation thing I’ve read so much about. By the time the last episode airs, you’ll know what my next project is. But for now there’s a lot of work still to be done, and disappointment to bear.

Thank you all for your support, your patience, your excellent adverts. See you again. -j.

But with Dollhouse ending, I will say that I am definitely interested in seeing his next project, no matter what it is.  Honestly, if Joss is attached to it, I’m interested.  And I’m certain there are others out there who feel the same.

So, goodbye Dollhouse.  We had some good times, and some not-so-good times.  But I still loved you.  And you will be missed. 

Oh, and I can’t wait for the dvd.  So, I think that’s going to be the silver lining on this dark cloud.  The dvds.  The special features.  The deleted scenes.  Can’t wait.

What do you think abou the not-so-surprising news about Dollhouse?

