I went to the doctor on Wednesday the 1st of July.  I got a complete work-up.  They took blood.  And they figured out what was wrong with me.

I have symptomatic anemia. 

I always knew I was anemic, and had no blood.  But it I had even less than a “normal anemic” should.  Like, I should have passed out completely weeks ago.  Like, I shouldn’t have been walking around with the amount of blood I DID have.  Like, I almost should have been dead because I had no blood.

And then they transfused me.  I got 2 units.  A Positive.  I never knew my blood type before that.  And now I do.

It took a total of 10 hours to go through the whole process.  From the waiting, to the poking me with an IV, and putting in the blood, then putting in more blood.  And stopping the blood as I got sick, then restarting it because I didn’t want to do this in the Emergency Room.

I’ve been feeling better.  I have more energy.  And the four flights of stairs I’ve been climbing every day have suddenly gotten easier.

But I’m still tired.  There is no relief for that.  I sleep, but I don’t feel rested.  And that’s not going to go away.  At least not immediately.

In order to control the anemia (which was caused from a severe loss of blood, possibly due to stress… oh, yeah, and a term that uses the word “ulcer” in it), I’ve had to go see my GI, who found a solution.  And I’m taking steps to try to rectify whatever it is additionally that is  going on with my body right now. 

I’m trying to control the stress and the anxiety.  And I’m taking iron supplements to keep my blood in check.

I have another appointment with my GI on Tuesday.  Unfortunately, it’s the type of thing that is going to pull me out of work for at least half, if not all of my day.

So, the long and short of this is that I’m tired, but I’m alive.

