I read the books.  I LOVED the books.  And I swore I would never see the movie.  Mostly because often times the movie never quite lives up to the incredibility of the story the book set forth.

What am I talking about, gentle readers?  Twilight.

But color me surprised as the days go by and I’m getting more and more excited to see this teen film.  The hype surrounding this movie keep getting bigger every day.  To the point where local malls are filled to their brim with teenage girls who are clearly taking sides: Team Edward or Team Jacob.  If you don’t choose, you are CLEARLY out of the loop.  Vampire or Werewolf?  True love or True Friendship?  Even the actors of the movie have chosen their sides.

I will tell you this: having read the entire series of books, I will unequivocally be on Team Edward.  And for the following reasons:

  1. I’m a vampire kind of girl.  Don’t be surprised.  I talk about it all the time.
  2. Werewolves are just plain hairy, and there’s only so much hair one person can stand.
  3. I always preferred Angel and Spike over Oz (BtVS and Angel), in their demon form, although I’m pretty sure they were pretty fairly matched where it counted.
  4. Stephanie Meyer clearly had intentions for Edward and Bella to be together.  Who am I to argue?  (And also, be prepared for Jacob to tag Bella and Edward’s daughter, as they are destined to be soulmates).

What team will you be on?

But with all of that said, the opening weekend is shaping up to be a crazy one for  the movie.  Flocks of teenage girls with their friends, mothers, relatives, or maybe alone will be lining up to get in.  Do you remember the craziness that surrounded the Sex and the City Movie?  Well, picture that, but with a much younger crowd. 

And believe it or not, but ticket pre-sales have been extremely high.  The Hollywood Reporter is stating that it may be higher than the most recent High School Musical Movie and the last two Harry Potter movies.  I can’t say that I’m surprised.  In fact, they are predicting that a $40 million weekend will be easy to do, $50 million will definitely be doable, and we shouldn’t be surprised it this weekend excedes $60 million.  I’ll believe it.

However, I will not be amongst the crowds of people seeing Twilight this weekend.  The reasons for this are twofold: firstly, I don’t know of anyone I would want to subject to seeing this movie, ESPECIALLY on opening weekend, so I will probably be seeing it alone, perhaps a Sunday matinee to round out a weekend.  And secondly, it’s opening weekend, it’s going to be crazy, and I’d rather see it alone when it’s less crowded.  Not that it’s something that matters.  But the idea of all those people in one concentrated area without someone to help keep me focused is simply terrifying.

My concern for this movie is also rising.  More because the books were fantastic (if you can accept the fact that the traditional vampire mythology is all but thrown out the window.  And this is probably a good reason to see the movie, if only to see how much of the book the movie will stay true to, and also how much of the entire series will be encompassed in one movie.  I don’t know about you, but nothing annoys me more than having an entire series of books be encompassed in one movie.  In my opinion, each book in the series should warrant it’s own movie.  How else do you expect the story to told and have any justice in its corner?

Anyhoo, check out the poll below, and vote!

