The tension is high this year.  Everyone is on edge… and everyone is involved.  I don’t know what it is about this election year, but it seems that it has been the most important election in a long time to a lot of people.

I did go out and vote this morning on all the important issues.  And let’s just say I’ll be watching the election day coverage until they announce the next President tonite. 

I will also say  that living in Massachusetts is sometimes hard on the voters in the sense that it’s more about the Electoral College than it is about popular votes, and makes some people feel like their vote doesn’t count.  I’m on that boat.  I do feel like no matter what happens, my vote won’t make a bit of difference.  But in case it does, I voted.  Because you just never know.  Heck, it happened to Kevin Coster in that awful movie he did over the summer, Swing Vote.  The message was good… but the movie?  Not really rental worthy either.  I’m just glad I don’t have to sit through it again.

So, in light of all the tension and the drama, and the high stakes, I bring you (courtesy of EW) the 10 Greatest Fictional Presidents!

1.  David Palmer, played by Dennis Haysbert.  I haven’t been watching 24, to be perfectly honest.  I feel like it’s one of those shows that can’t be watched unless you’re planning on lost weekending for a marathon of the entire series… but that’s just me.  It’s defintely not one of those shows that you can casually drop in and out of. 

2.  Andrew Shepherd, played by Michael Douglas.  I asbolutely LOVED the American President.  It’s one of those movies that I could watch over and over again, and when it’s on TV I’ll stop and watch it.  I love Michael Douglas as an actor, as well.  I’m not the world’s biggest fan of his costar Annette Benning, but they had good onscreen chemistry. 

3.  Josiah “Jed” Bartlet, played by Martin Sheen.  I never watched the West Wing.  It’s actually on my backlog of things to watch, because everybody says it was good.  Did I mention it was at the bottom of my list? 

4.  Jack Stanton, played by John Travolta.  It’s not secret that John Travolta is a good actor.  But I don’t think I’ve ever seen Primary Colors, where Travolta seems to have been channelling President Clinton.  I’m not surprised, but it will probably be a rental this coming weekend to celebrate the new President.  (I love theme weekends). 

5.  James Marshall, played by Harrison Ford.  He has a military background and apparently knows classified information about jet airliners.  He’s also a persuasive speaker.  And he’s in the 1997 movie, Air Force One.  This was definitely an awesome movie.  And Harrison Ford is fantastic in a lot of the roles he’s in.  It’s hard to deny his Presidential qualifications. 

6.  Merkin Muffley, played by Peter SellersDr. Strangelove… never say it, but it’s on the list.  I’ve always been a fan of Peter Sellers’ work, so I find it very plausible that he would be President.

7.  Laura Roslin, played by Mary McDonnell.  All BSG fans should be excited that she made the list.  McDonnell’s experience as First Lady in Independance Day made her the perfect candidate to understand and govern the Cylons.

8.  Bill Mitchell/Dave Kovic, played by Kevin KlineDave was one of those movies that makes you wonder what would happen if that really happened.  What if the President really suffered a stroke while cheating on his First Lady?  What if a look-a-like was brought in to run the country?  And what if he did it better?  Okay, now I’m really becoming concerned for our government.

9.  Jackson Evans, played by Jeff Bridges.  The basis for the story of The Contender is similar to our Presidential election of today, where Laine Jackson (played by Joan Allen) is trying to become the first female Vice President.  I wonder if she’s anything like Sarah Palin….

10.  James Dale, played by Jack NicholsonMars AttacksMars AttacksMars AttacksJack Nicholson is good in any role he plays.  He’s always convincing, and always on his game.  And when paired up with Tim Burton in this movie, absolutely hilarious!  Did he really think Martians were going to attack???

And there you have it, gentle readers.  The 10 Greatest Fiction Presidents.  Of course, there are more, because, after all, there will always be TV and movies that require a President in office at least once in the storyline.

