I know you’ve noticed.  I certainly have noticed.  And I’m not sure if it’s because I have high expectations for quality television.  Because, TV should just always be mediocre… no question.

But there’s something going on in writer’s rooms across the country.  This season just isn’t as good as it should be.  Don’t get me wrong… after last season with the Writer’s Strike, and networks just trying to get episodes out, it was all about quantity and not quality, there are a lot of shows this year that are stepping on their own toes in the writer’s room.

It’s no wonder Joss pulled Dollhouse for a rewrite.  Wish JJ Abrams had done that with Fringe… and Heroes desperately needs some serious rewrites.

One show in particular that just isn’t up to par this season (for me…) is How I Met Your Mother.  I don’t know what it is… but it’s just not as funny as it has been.  And this is my favorite show ever.  I’m not sure if it’s because Ted’s love interest and potential wife is the second Becky from Roseanne… (and if they DO get married, and this is the end of the show, I will be sorely disappointed) or maybe the writer’s need to get back to the basics.  It’s just not very good.

The last two episodes, which should have been sitcom gold (going in search of the best burger in NY, and trekking all the way to NJ)… but they were barely funny.  Lily is trying too hard to be funny… well, it’s not just Lilly.  I think the entire show, from the characters to the one-liners, to the not-so-complex-Seinfeld-wannabe plotlines are just trying to hard to be funny.

I want to know what happened.  The first two seasons were incredible.  Last season had a few really good episodes, and it just feels like things are going downhill. 

I’ve even gotten to the point where I don’t even want to watch the episodes live anymore.  I may even tune in for *gasp* The Sarah Connor Chronicles… *dramatic music plays*  even though I hate that show more than anything… and it’s probably because of Summer Glau.

But I digress.  I’ll be keeping my eyes and ears open for the return of sitcom gold, and paying attention the quality of the other shows I watch.

It’s just a shame… I think if this season for TV, both first run shows, and those who have already been in seasons, doesn’t start to shape up, I’m just going to have to resort to watching re-runs and DVDs.

So, why is this season of TV just mediocre?  Because the writing chops aren’t there… case closed.

