Raising the Bar

Raising the Bar

I’ve caught the first two episodes of a new TNT drama called Raising the Bar.  It’s all about young, addicted-to-the-law Prosecutors.  And of course it stars Mark Paul Gosselaar and J. August Richards, among many others.  So it comes as no surprise that I would give it a three-episode chance.

Two episodes in, and I’m still not impressed.  The only pleasing attributes this show has so far is Zack Morris and Gunn.  Oh, and Wallace Fennel (Veronica Mars).  And Angel,  the creepy guy from Party Monster, who also played the best gay friend on My So Called Life one upon a time.  Wilson Cruz, I think his name is.

This is why I hate courtroom dramas.  Most of them are self contained, and there are new guest stars every week.  Which is fine.  But sometimes, I like the cast to remain the same and seeing very little crossover or starplacing, if that’s what you call it.  But I’m not impressed.  I think it’s because I don’t like courtroom dramas.  Even though it’s jam-packed full of my favorite people, I am just not impressed.

But maybe it’ll speak to me in the third episode.  At least I’m giving it a chance.  It airs every Monday night at 10 pm.

