Tropic Thunder

Another weekend has come and gone, with not much going on.  I saw 2 movies this weekend, which has been pretty normal for the past few months.

The first was Tropic Thunder, which D and I saw Friday night.  I let him pick, knowing full well that I would have picked the same movie.  And I have to say, it was funny.  I was a little skeptical to begin with, but it was actually pretty funny.  I don’t want to get into too much detail about it, but I can definitely see why human rights groups were up in arms.  Some of it was offensive, but if you can’t take a joke, you shouldn’t be seeing that movie.

One thing that genuinely disturbed me was Tom Cruise.  I had read earlier in the week that he was going to be in the movie, and didn’t even think twice about it.  He had a very Jerry Maguire sort of role, and I honestly had no idea who he was until the last scene he was in.  And then…. he had this move…. and he busted it.

Yup.  Tom Cruise was bustin’ a move (in character) at the end of the movie as they are rolling the “before credits” credits sequence.  Yes, he’s a fruit loop, but what really disturbs me is that I’m not sure if it was a turn-on or a turn-off.

Moving along…

Saturday afternoon, I managed to convince D that seeing a scary movie was a good idea.  A much better idea than seeing it on a Friday night, when it was dark out, and we’d get home after midnight… leaving me open for the opportunity to have many nightmares. 

Mirrors

And what did we see?  Mirrors.  That awful Kiefer Sutherland “horror” flick.  And when I say it was awful, it was just plain bad.  Yes, there were moments where I jumped and gasped.  D had tiny half-moon marks all up and down his arm from where I was clutching tightly.  But other than that, the story was implausible.  I can only maintain my suspension of reality for so long.  And for the 2 hours this movie lasted, it was far too long.

I sometimes enjoy the supernatural stories, but more so when they seem plausible, like White Noise or other equally plausible movies.

But no.  In Mirrors, Kiefer’s character was being attacked by a mirror… and the reason for that? A 70-year old nun who let loose this “demon” many years ago, and fled to escape the terror.  Okay.  Fine.  A demon infects a young girl, and is released into the mirror… Sure.  Once the mystery is solved, the only way to exorcise the demon is to have the nun confront it and let it back into her body.  Enter Evil Nun Bitch.  And therein lies my disbelief. 

The special effects were good, and it had some cringeworthy moments… but then ending was just plain unsatisfying.  Kiefer ends up being stuck in the mirror universe… And I swear, if they even CONSIDER a sequel, I will boycott the entire movie industry.

Yup… no more “scary” movies.  I’ll wait for the next Saw movie before I’m willing  to be unsatisfied with another “horror flick” again.

